help bg
Go Back

National Republic of China, Chinese Historic Dynasty

In the last years of Qing Dynasty, Xinhai Revolution broke out in 1911. On the first day of January in year 1912, Sun Yat-sen founded the provisional government of National Republic of China in Nanjing. The period from January 1st, 1912 to year 1949 was the governing period of the National Republic of China. During the period, there were several governments which changed from time to time. They included the Sun Yat-sen provisional government during January to March in year 1912 and the capital of the provisional government was in Nanjing. Beiyang Government during year 1912 to year 1928 set Nanjing as the capital during that period. The duration of the Nanjing Kuomintang Government was from year1982 to year 1949 and its capital was also in Nanjing.

When one was in Chinese school in China, he might get to know on the history class that during the period of the Beiyang Government, the northern warlords in power changed frequently. The warlords were Yuan Shih-kai, Tuan Chi-jui, Cao Kun and Chang Tso-lin. The changes of the warlords reflected the change of the time.

In year 1921, Chinese Communist Party was founded. In year 1924 and year 1927, Chinese Communist Party cooperated twice with the Kuomintang for the first time to launch the northern expedition. In year 1937 and year 1945, Chinese Communist Party cooperated twice with the Kuomintang for the second time to fight against the Japanese enemies. The year 1927 to year 1937 witnessed the first revolutionary civil war to fight against the imperialists and feudalists. The War of Liberation from year 1946 to year 1949 was called the third revolutionary civil war. For many foreigners who were interested in the history of China during that time periods, he could took the Chinese learning program to know more about the stage of history.

As mentioned above, great changes took place during that period of time. The period was also the social upheavals in China. The political wars were occurring at that time. The economy and culture developed slowly during that stage. The law system was subject to the political wars. And there was no law system existing in the society at that time. But a lot of brilliant leaders and writers like Mao Zedong, Chou En-lai and Lu Xun were born at that turmoil period. in year 1949, the Kuomintang government was defeated to Taiwan. On October 1st, 1949, the People’s Republic of China was founded and the capital was set in Beijing.

Please use vertical scrolling on your mobile device.