FAQ

Peu importe où vous vous trouvez ou que vous décidiez d'étudier avec nous en ligne ou de venir à l'école de chinois Keats, l'inscription est simple et nous sommes à vos côtés à chaque étape.
JE SOUHAITE VOYAGER DANS D'AUTRES VILLES APRÈS MON SÉJOUR À KEATS. EST-CE QUE KEATS M'AIDERA À PRÉPARER CE VOYAGE ?

Oui, le personnel de Keats se fera un plaisir de vous aider à réserver votre billet d’avion/train ou votre chambre d’hôtel. Nous vous proposons également nos propres séjours pour vous et votre famille. Si vous prenez des cours à Keats et que vos amis/votre famille vous rejoignent dans le Yunnan, c’est le programme parfait.

QUELS VÊTEMENTS EMPORTER ?

Nous vous enverrons une liste avec les choses à emporter environ 2 semaines avant votre arrivée, en fonction de la météo à ce moment. Vous pouvez aussi télécharger notre Check-List des Choses Auxquelles Penser Avant De Partir Étudier À L’étranger.

EST-CE QUE JE PEUX UTILISER MA CARTE DE CRÉDIT POUR FAIRE MES ACHATS À KUNMING ?

La majorité des magasins à Kunming n’accepte pas les cartes de paiement étrangères. Il est plus simple d’utiliser du liquide quand vous achetez des choses en Chine. De plus en plus de personnes utilisent des moyens de paiement démonétisés comme Wechat ou Alipay. Vous pouvez ouvrir un compte dans une banque chinoise et relier ce compte à votre compte Wechat ou Alipay pour effectuer tous vos paiements avec votre téléphone. Votre professeur peut vous aider dans ces démarches.

EST-CE QUE JE PEUX BOIRE L'EAU DU ROBINET PENDANT MES ÉTUDES À KEATS ?

En Chine, on ne boit pas l’eau du robinet. Chaque chambre dispose d’un distributeur d’eau. Vous pouvez commander vos bouteilles de 19L par notre intermédiaire au prix de 15 RMB/bouteille.

QUE PUIS-JE FAIRE LE WEEK-END ?

L’école propose des excursions pour la Forêt de Pierres, Dali, Lijiang, Shangri-La, Jianshui ou Yuanyang pendant les week-ends pour un coût additionnel. Vous pourrez vous inscrire quand bon vous semble.

QUE FONT LES GENS QUI ÉTUDIENT LE CHINOIS PENDANT LEUR TEMPS LIBRE ?

Certains étudiants restent dans leur chambre ou à la bibliothèque pour réviser, certains autres partent explorer la ville ou faire du volontariat comme le propose notre programme Études + Volontariat. Keats propose également des activités culturelles comme l’initiation à la calligraphie chinoise, à la cuisine chinoise, à la peinture chinoise, mais aussi des jeux de cartes, de mahjong et autres découverte de la culture du thé, tous les mardis et jeudis soir.

Je vais m'occuper moi-même de trouver un logement. Est-ce que je peux prendre des leçons particulières à Keats?

Oui, il est possible d’apprendre le mandarin uniquement à l’école Keats sans hébergement. Pour les étudiants qui n’habitent pas à l’école, nous facturons 150 RMB par heure pour des cours particuliers de chinois. Si vous avez besoin d’aide avec le visa, la durée minimale du cours est de 4 heures par jour, 5 jours par semaine. Pour pouvoir prétendre à un visa d’étudiant à entrées multiples, vous devez suivre un minimum de 16 semaines d’études à Keats.

 

EST-CE QUE KEATS ME FOURNIRA UN LOGEMENT ?

Oui, tous les prix communiqués sur le site (à part pour les cours en petits groupes) incluent un logement (chambre simple avec salle de bain privative). Vous n’avez donc pas à vous faire de souci par rapport au logement.

EST-CE QUE KEATS VA M'AIDER À OBTENIR UN VISA ÉTUDIANT?

Oui, après avoir reçu la somme totale correspondant à vos frais d’études par transfert bancaire, nous vous enverrons une Notice d’Admission au nom de l’école de chinois Keats pour faire votre demande de visa étudiant (X1 / X2) dans votre pays. Le visa X1 correspond à une durée supérieure à 6 mois, tandis que le visa X2 est pour les programmes d’une durée inférieure à 6 mois. Le tarif courrier express est de 490 RMB.

À noter : le visa touriste ne peut plus être changé en visa étudiant une fois arrivé(e) en Chine. Afin d’éviter des surcoûts non-nécessaires, assurez-vous d’entrer en Chine avec un visa X1 ou X2.

AI-JE BESOIN D'UN VISA POUR SUIVRE UN PROGRAMME DE CHINOIS À L'ÉCOLE KEATS EN CHINE?

Oui, il vous faudra un visa chinois pour étudier en Chine. Avant de venir étudier en Chine, assurez-vous d’avoir le temps pour la demande de visa dans l’ambassade chinoise de votre pays avec les documents que nous vous enverrons.

JE VEUX ÉTUDIER À LA KEATS SCHOOL. COMBIEN DE TEMPS À L'AVANCE DOIS-JE DEMANDER?

Pour les études d’été, les chambres sont généralement réservées six mois à l’avance. Pour le printemps, l’automne et l’hiver, il est suggéré aux étudiants de s’inscrire au moins 2 mois à l’avance pour sécuriser les professeurs et les salles de Keats. Cela vous laisse également suffisamment de temps pour demander un visa chinois. Assurez-vous de vérifier la disponibilité des cours avec nous avant de postuler.

QUELLES MÉTHODES DE PAIEMENT ACCEPTEZ-VOUS POUR LES ÉTUDIANTS QUI VIENNENT ÉTUDIER LE CHINOIS À KEATS ?

Keats accepte les paiements en liquide, les transferts bancaires et les paiements par carte de crédit. Pour plus d’informations sur les méthodes de paiement, merci de visiter cette page.

JE SUIS VÉGÉTARIEN(NE). EST-CE QUE LE CHEF CHEZ KEATS PEUT FAIRE QUELQUE CHOSE POUR MOI ?

Oui, bien sûr, chaque repas est composé de 8 à 10 plats, parmi lesquels la moitié, au moins, est pour les végétarien(ne)s.

PUIS-JE CONTINUER À UTILISER LES LIVRES DE CHINOIS QUE J'UTILISE À LA MAISON POUR ÉTUDIER LE CHINOIS?

Oui, vous pouvez même ramener votre manuel et en donner une copie à votre professeur afin qu’il prépare des leçons spécialement adaptées à votre niveau et à vos objectifs d’apprentissage.

WHAT TEXTBOOKS DO YOU USE AT KEATS SCHOOL?QUELS MANUELS DE CHINOIS UTILISEZ VOUS CHEZ KEATS ?

Si vous êtes débutant(e), nous utilisons « Essential Chinese » publié par Keats et qui contient des mots et phrases utiles et pratiques. Pour les intermédiaires ou avancés, nous utilisons « New Practical Chinese Reader », « Boya Chinese », « Speed-up Chinese », « Developing Chinese » selon votre niveau et vos objectifs. Après votre arrivée en Chine, vous rencontrerez votre professeur pour discuter de vos besoins et de vos objectifs. Votre professeur sélectionnera alors le manuel le plus adapté. Votre professeur préparera également du matériel pédagogique pour vous aider dans votre progression.

Si vous choisissez le cours de préparation aux examens HSK, nous utilisons « HSK Standard Course » et d’autres livres d’exercices HSK divers et variés.

JE SUIS DÉBUTANT(E) ET JE VEUX APPRENDRE À PARLER CHINOIS LE PLUS VITE POSSIBLE. COMBIEN DE TEMPS PENSEZ-VOUS QU'IL ME FAUDRA?

En tant que débutant(e) qui n’a jamais étudié le chinois, un minimum de 12 semaines d’études à Keats sera nécessaire pour avoir une compréhension globale du fonctionnement de la langue et d’une conversation basique en chinois (réserver une chambre d’hôtel, se faire des amis, commander à manger, demander son chemin, parler de ses hobbies et de ses expériences personnelles…)

Si votre objectif est plus élevé et consiste à lire des journaux en chinois, regarder la télévision ou des films en chinois, parler de faits de société, et si vous avez plus de temps devant vous, nous vous recommandons de prendre un programme intensif de 20 ou 24 semaines pour atteindre un niveau intermédiaire.

JE SUIS D'UN PAYS NON-ANGLOPHONE. MON ANGLAIS N'EST PAS TERRIBLE. PUIS-JE ÉTUDIER CHEZ KEATS ?

Vous êtes bien entendu bienvenu(e) chez Keats. Si vous ne parlez qu’un minimum d’anglais, vous pouvez très bien étudier chez nous. L’anglais n’est qu’un outil pour enseigner, mais nous l’utilisons le moins possible pour favoriser un environnement langagier 100% chinois. Nous avons aidé de nombreux non-anglophones à maîtriser le chinois.

JE SOUHAITE VOYAGER DANS D'AUTRES VILLES APRÈS MON SÉJOUR À KEATS. EST-CE QUE KEATS M'AIDERA À PRÉPARER CE VOYAGE ?

Oui, le personnel de Keats se fera un plaisir de vous aider à réserver votre billet d’avion/train ou votre chambre d’hôtel. Nous vous proposons également nos propres séjours pour vous et votre famille. Si vous prenez des cours à Keats et que vos amis/votre famille vous rejoignent dans le Yunnan, c’est le programme parfait.

QUELS VÊTEMENTS EMPORTER ?

Nous vous enverrons une liste avec les choses à emporter environ 2 semaines avant votre arrivée, en fonction de la météo à ce moment. Vous pouvez aussi télécharger notre Check-List des Choses Auxquelles Penser Avant De Partir Étudier À L’étranger.

EST-CE QUE JE PEUX UTILISER MA CARTE DE CRÉDIT POUR FAIRE MES ACHATS À KUNMING ?

La majorité des magasins à Kunming n’accepte pas les cartes de paiement étrangères. Il est plus simple d’utiliser du liquide quand vous achetez des choses en Chine. De plus en plus de personnes utilisent des moyens de paiement démonétisés comme Wechat ou Alipay. Vous pouvez ouvrir un compte dans une banque chinoise et relier ce compte à votre compte Wechat ou Alipay pour effectuer tous vos paiements avec votre téléphone. Votre professeur peut vous aider dans ces démarches.

EST-CE QUE JE PEUX BOIRE L'EAU DU ROBINET PENDANT MES ÉTUDES À KEATS ?

En Chine, on ne boit pas l’eau du robinet. Chaque chambre dispose d’un distributeur d’eau. Vous pouvez commander vos bouteilles de 19L par notre intermédiaire au prix de 15 RMB/bouteille.

QUE PUIS-JE FAIRE LE WEEK-END ?

L’école propose des excursions pour la Forêt de Pierres, Dali, Lijiang, Shangri-La, Jianshui ou Yuanyang pendant les week-ends pour un coût additionnel. Vous pourrez vous inscrire quand bon vous semble.

QUE FONT LES GENS QUI ÉTUDIENT LE CHINOIS PENDANT LEUR TEMPS LIBRE ?

Certains étudiants restent dans leur chambre ou à la bibliothèque pour réviser, certains autres partent explorer la ville ou faire du volontariat comme le propose notre programme Études + Volontariat. Keats propose également des activités culturelles comme l’initiation à la calligraphie chinoise, à la cuisine chinoise, à la peinture chinoise, mais aussi des jeux de cartes, de mahjong et autres découverte de la culture du thé, tous les mardis et jeudis soir.

Je vais m'occuper moi-même de trouver un logement. Est-ce que je peux prendre des leçons particulières à Keats?

Oui, il est possible d’apprendre le mandarin uniquement à l’école Keats sans hébergement. Pour les étudiants qui n’habitent pas à l’école, nous facturons 150 RMB par heure pour des cours particuliers de chinois. Si vous avez besoin d’aide avec le visa, la durée minimale du cours est de 4 heures par jour, 5 jours par semaine. Pour pouvoir prétendre à un visa d’étudiant à entrées multiples, vous devez suivre un minimum de 16 semaines d’études à Keats.

 

EST-CE QUE KEATS ME FOURNIRA UN LOGEMENT ?

Oui, tous les prix communiqués sur le site (à part pour les cours en petits groupes) incluent un logement (chambre simple avec salle de bain privative). Vous n’avez donc pas à vous faire de souci par rapport au logement.

EST-CE QUE KEATS VA M'AIDER À OBTENIR UN VISA ÉTUDIANT?

Oui, après avoir reçu la somme totale correspondant à vos frais d’études par transfert bancaire, nous vous enverrons une Notice d’Admission au nom de l’école de chinois Keats pour faire votre demande de visa étudiant (X1 / X2) dans votre pays. Le visa X1 correspond à une durée supérieure à 6 mois, tandis que le visa X2 est pour les programmes d’une durée inférieure à 6 mois. Le tarif courrier express est de 490 RMB.

À noter : le visa touriste ne peut plus être changé en visa étudiant une fois arrivé(e) en Chine. Afin d’éviter des surcoûts non-nécessaires, assurez-vous d’entrer en Chine avec un visa X1 ou X2.

AI-JE BESOIN D'UN VISA POUR SUIVRE UN PROGRAMME DE CHINOIS À L'ÉCOLE KEATS EN CHINE?

Oui, il vous faudra un visa chinois pour étudier en Chine. Avant de venir étudier en Chine, assurez-vous d’avoir le temps pour la demande de visa dans l’ambassade chinoise de votre pays avec les documents que nous vous enverrons.

JE VEUX ÉTUDIER À LA KEATS SCHOOL. COMBIEN DE TEMPS À L'AVANCE DOIS-JE DEMANDER?

Pour les études d’été, les chambres sont généralement réservées six mois à l’avance. Pour le printemps, l’automne et l’hiver, il est suggéré aux étudiants de s’inscrire au moins 2 mois à l’avance pour sécuriser les professeurs et les salles de Keats. Cela vous laisse également suffisamment de temps pour demander un visa chinois. Assurez-vous de vérifier la disponibilité des cours avec nous avant de postuler.

QUELLES MÉTHODES DE PAIEMENT ACCEPTEZ-VOUS POUR LES ÉTUDIANTS QUI VIENNENT ÉTUDIER LE CHINOIS À KEATS ?

Keats accepte les paiements en liquide, les transferts bancaires et les paiements par carte de crédit. Pour plus d’informations sur les méthodes de paiement, merci de visiter cette page.

JE SUIS VÉGÉTARIEN(NE). EST-CE QUE LE CHEF CHEZ KEATS PEUT FAIRE QUELQUE CHOSE POUR MOI ?

Oui, bien sûr, chaque repas est composé de 8 à 10 plats, parmi lesquels la moitié, au moins, est pour les végétarien(ne)s.

PUIS-JE CONTINUER À UTILISER LES LIVRES DE CHINOIS QUE J'UTILISE À LA MAISON POUR ÉTUDIER LE CHINOIS?

Oui, vous pouvez même ramener votre manuel et en donner une copie à votre professeur afin qu’il prépare des leçons spécialement adaptées à votre niveau et à vos objectifs d’apprentissage.

WHAT TEXTBOOKS DO YOU USE AT KEATS SCHOOL?QUELS MANUELS DE CHINOIS UTILISEZ VOUS CHEZ KEATS ?

Si vous êtes débutant(e), nous utilisons « Essential Chinese » publié par Keats et qui contient des mots et phrases utiles et pratiques. Pour les intermédiaires ou avancés, nous utilisons « New Practical Chinese Reader », « Boya Chinese », « Speed-up Chinese », « Developing Chinese » selon votre niveau et vos objectifs. Après votre arrivée en Chine, vous rencontrerez votre professeur pour discuter de vos besoins et de vos objectifs. Votre professeur sélectionnera alors le manuel le plus adapté. Votre professeur préparera également du matériel pédagogique pour vous aider dans votre progression.

Si vous choisissez le cours de préparation aux examens HSK, nous utilisons « HSK Standard Course » et d’autres livres d’exercices HSK divers et variés.

JE SUIS DÉBUTANT(E) ET JE VEUX APPRENDRE À PARLER CHINOIS LE PLUS VITE POSSIBLE. COMBIEN DE TEMPS PENSEZ-VOUS QU'IL ME FAUDRA?

En tant que débutant(e) qui n’a jamais étudié le chinois, un minimum de 12 semaines d’études à Keats sera nécessaire pour avoir une compréhension globale du fonctionnement de la langue et d’une conversation basique en chinois (réserver une chambre d’hôtel, se faire des amis, commander à manger, demander son chemin, parler de ses hobbies et de ses expériences personnelles…)

Si votre objectif est plus élevé et consiste à lire des journaux en chinois, regarder la télévision ou des films en chinois, parler de faits de société, et si vous avez plus de temps devant vous, nous vous recommandons de prendre un programme intensif de 20 ou 24 semaines pour atteindre un niveau intermédiaire.

JE SUIS D'UN PAYS NON-ANGLOPHONE. MON ANGLAIS N'EST PAS TERRIBLE. PUIS-JE ÉTUDIER CHEZ KEATS ?

Vous êtes bien entendu bienvenu(e) chez Keats. Si vous ne parlez qu’un minimum d’anglais, vous pouvez très bien étudier chez nous. L’anglais n’est qu’un outil pour enseigner, mais nous l’utilisons le moins possible pour favoriser un environnement langagier 100% chinois. Nous avons aidé de nombreux non-anglophones à maîtriser le chinois.

PRÊT(E) À FAIRE
LE PROCHAIN PAS
VERS VOTRE FUTUR ?

ALLONS-Y !

Jaq's Story at Keats The Inspiration of Chinese Tea

PLUS DE 7000 ÉTUDIANTS SONT PASSÉS CHEZ KEATS

Amauri testimonial for keats chinese school

Amauri | USA

COURS DE CHINOIS EN PETITS GROUPES

The teachers at Keats know how to read the students. They know the level of the students. I am a slow learner, but they managed to adapt to my learning. They made the class very fun, very exciting. I am pleased that not only I got to learn the culture and the language, I got to make amazing friends, really unbelievable, Chinese friends and European friends, American friends, from all over the world.

Caroline testimonial for keats school french

Caroline | France

COURS DE CHINOIS INDIVIDUELS INTENSIFS

It is very comfortable studying at Keats. The teachers are very friendly. I welcome you to come to study Chinese at Keats.

David testimonial for keats chinese school

Pakorn | Thailand

COURS DE CHINOIS EN PETITS GROUPES

Aliza testimonial for keats chinese school

Aliza | USA

COURS DE CHINOIS INDIVIDUELS INTENSIFS

I found Keats School and I am so glad that I did. In the school, you are fully being taken care of. My teacher is really great and we become lovely friends.

Josephine testimonial for keats chinese school

Josephine | Indonesia

COURS DE CHINOIS INDIVIDUELS INTENSIFS

I think Keats is one of the best language schools I have ever been to. My teacher is such an amazing person. She is so good at teaching. She makes classes fun. I have learned a lot of vocabulary of my time here. I would really recommend to come to Keats School

Matteo testimonial for keats chinese school

Matteo | Italy

COURS DE CHINOIS EN PETITS GROUPES

Rients testimonial for keats chinese school

Rients | Netherlands

COURS DE CHINOIS EN PETITS GROUPES

Kunming is a great place to learn Chinese because not many Chinese on the street speak English. Keats has been a great school for me and a lot of other foreigners who studied in china recommended it to me. I think they are all right. The study method here is really structured. They make learning Chinese really easy. There are also a lot of cultural and natural places to visit.

Steve testimonial for keats chinese school

Steve | UK

COURS DE CHINOIS EN PETITS GROUPES

I really enjoy coming here because it is like kind of a home for me. It is a great great environment to learn Chinese and meet great people from all over the world. Every one here is extremely friendly. Kunming has a really nice climate. It is a very good mix of modern city and also a lot of historic Chinese culture. Probably got the cleanest air in China and possibly the cleanest water too. I invite you to come.

Please use vertical scrolling on your mobile device.

FAQ

No matter where you are or whether you decide to study with us online or come to the Keats Chinese school, enrollment is easy, and we are with you every step of the way.
I WANT TO TRAVEL TO OTHER CITIES DURING/AFTER STUDYING CHINESE AT KEATS, WILL KEATS HELP ME PLAN THE TRIP?

Yes, Keats staff will help you book flight tickets and hotel rooms, if needed. We also offer travel programs for you and your family. If you take Mandarin lessons at Keats and your family/friends will join in for the trip in Yunnan, this is the perfect program for you.

WHAT CLOTHING SHOULD I BRING?

We will send you a list of what to bring about 2 weeks before you come regarding the temperature and the weather at that time. Please feel free to download our Free Checklist Before Moving Abroad to Study

CAN I USE MY CREDIT CARD WHILE SHOPPING IN KUNMING?

Most stores in Kunming do not accept foreign credit card payment. It would be better if you pay cash when you buy things in China. More and more people are using apps like WeChat and Alipay to purchase their goods. You can open a Chinese bank account and link it to your WeChat or Alipay account so that you can make payment using your mobile phones. Your teacher can take you to open a Chinese bank account if you need.

CAN I DRINK TAP WATER WHEN I LEARN CHINESE IN CHINA AT KEATS?

In China, we do not drink tap water. In each dorm room, we provide a water dispenser. You can order bottled water from us at RMB 15/bottle.

WHAT CAN I DO DURING THE WEEKENDS?

The school offers trips to the Stone Forest, Dali, Lijiang, Shangri-la, Jianshui, Yuanyang during the weekends at an additional cost. Students are welcome to sign up for these trips.

WHAT DO THE CHINESE LANGUAGE LEARNING STUDENTS DO DURING THEIR SPARE TIME?

Some students stay in their rooms or the library doing their homework; some students go out to explore the city; some students do their volunteer work if they sign up for the Volunteer in China program. Keats offers Chinese cultural activities such as Chinese calligraphy, Chinese cooking, Chinese painting, card games, mahjong, Chinese tea, Yunnan coffer etc. every Tuesday and Thursday night.

I WILL FIND MY OWN ACCOMMODATION. CAN I TAKE THE ONE-ON-ONE CHINESE LESSONS ONLY AT KEATS SCHOOL?

Yes, it is possible to learn Mandarin only at Keats School without accommodation. For students who do not live in the school, we charge RMB 150 per hour for one-on-one Chinese lessons. If you need help with the visa, the minimum duration for the course is 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. To be eligible to get a student visa with multiple entries requires a minimum of 16 weeks’ study at Keats.

WILL KEATS PROVIDE ME ACCOMMODATION?

Yes, all the prices listed on our website (except the small group Chinese class) include accommodation (single room with private bathroom). Therefore, you don’t have to look for your own accommodation, which is very convenient.

WILL KEATS SCHOOL HELP ME OBTAIN A VISA?

Yes, after we receive full tuition fee for the entire course through bank transfer, we will send you the official Admission Notice on behalf of Keats School to apply for a student visa (X1/X2) in your country. The X1 visa is for a program longer than 6 months while the X2 student visa is for a program shorter than 6 months. The express mail delivery fee is RMB 490.

Please Note: The tourist visa can no longer be changed to a student visa after you arrive in China. In order to avoid unnecessary cost, please make sure to enter China with an X1 or X2 student visa.

DO I NEED A VISA TO TAKE THE CHINESE LANGUAGE PROGRAM IN CHINA AT KEATS SCHOOL?

Yes, you will need a Chinese visa to study in China. Before you come to study in China, please leave yourself enough time to apply for a Chinese visa at the Chinese embassy in your country with the documents we send you.

I WANT TO STUDY AT KEATS SCHOOL. HOW LONG IN ADVANCE SHOULD I APPLY?

For summer studies, the rooms are usually fully booked half a year in advance. For spring, fall and winter, students are suggested to register at least 2 months in advance to secure the teachers and rooms at Keats. This also leaves you enough time to apply for a Chinese visa. Please make sure to check the course availability with us before you apply.

 

WHAT PAYMENT METHODS DO YOU ACCEPT FOR STUDENTS TO LEARN CHINESE IN CHINA AT KEATS SCHOOL?

Keats School accepts cash, bank transfer and credit card payment. For payment methods, please visit this page.

I’M A VEGETARIAN. WILL KEATS SCHOOL’S CHEF ACCOMMODATE TO MY NEEDS?

Yes, we provide 8 to 10 dishes each meal for our students. Among the dishes we provide are cooked for vegetarians.

CAN I CONTINUE USING MY OWN CHINESE TEXTBOOKS THAT I HAVE BEEN USING HERE AT HOME?

Yes, please bring your textbooks to Keats School and prepare a copy/book for your teacher when you arrive so that your teacher can prepare the lessons according to your level and your learning goals.

WHAT TEXTBOOKS DO YOU USE AT KEATS SCHOOL?

If you are a beginner, we use “Essential Chinese” published by Keats School which contains useful and practical words and phrases. If you are at intermediate or advanced, we use “New Practical Chinese Reader”, “Boya Chinese” , “Speed-up Chinese” , “Developing Chinese” depending on your levels and learning goals. After you arrive, you will meet your teacher to discuss about your learning requirements and goals, and your teacher will select one text book that is suitable for your level and learning goals. Your teacher(s) will also prepare supplementary materials to comply with your studies.

If you choose the HSK Preparation Course, we use the “HSK Standard Course”  and various HSK exercise books.

I AM A BEGINNER AND I WANT TO LEARN TO SPEAK CHINESE WELL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. HOW LONG DO YOU THINK IT WILL TAKE TO ACHIEVE MY GOAL?

If you are a beginner and have not studied Chinese before, a minimum of 12 weeks’ Chinese language study at Keats School will help you master the basic understanding of Mandarin and basic conversations, such as booking hotel rooms, making Chinese friends, ordering food in restaurants, asking for directions, talking about hobbies and personal experiences, etc.

If you have a higher level of Chinese learning goals such as reading newspapers, watching TV shows, watch Chinese movies, talking about social issues and have longer time available, we would recommend you take a 20-week or 24-week intensive Mandarin course to help you achieve a lower/upper intermediate level.

I AM FROM A NON-ENGLISH SPEAKING COUNTRY. MY ENGLISH IS NOT VERY GOOD. CAN I STUDY AT KEATS?

You are welcome to study at Keats. If you only know a little English, you can still study at Keats. English is just a tool we use to teach Chinese. However, in order to create an all Chinese language environment, we will use as less English as possible to help our students learn Chinese. We have helped many non-English speakers to master the Chinese language.

Will I get any certificate at the end of the program?

Yes, we provide a program certificate for all courses we offer. You will receive a certificate at the end of your program, stating how many hours of Mandarin lessons you will have completed.

I WANT TO TRAVEL TO OTHER CITIES DURING/AFTER STUDYING CHINESE AT KEATS, WILL KEATS HELP ME PLAN THE TRIP?

Yes, Keats staff will help you book flight tickets and hotel rooms, if needed. We also offer travel programs for you and your family. If you take Mandarin lessons at Keats and your family/friends will join in for the trip in Yunnan, this is the perfect program for you.

WHAT CLOTHING SHOULD I BRING?

We will send you a list of what to bring about 2 weeks before you come regarding the temperature and the weather at that time. Please feel free to download our Free Checklist Before Moving Abroad to Study

CAN I USE MY CREDIT CARD WHILE SHOPPING IN KUNMING?

Most stores in Kunming do not accept foreign credit card payment. It would be better if you pay cash when you buy things in China. More and more people are using apps like WeChat and Alipay to purchase their goods. You can open a Chinese bank account and link it to your WeChat or Alipay account so that you can make payment using your mobile phones. Your teacher can take you to open a Chinese bank account if you need.

CAN I DRINK TAP WATER WHEN I LEARN CHINESE IN CHINA AT KEATS?

In China, we do not drink tap water. In each dorm room, we provide a water dispenser. You can order bottled water from us at RMB 15/bottle.

WHAT CAN I DO DURING THE WEEKENDS?

The school offers trips to the Stone Forest, Dali, Lijiang, Shangri-la, Jianshui, Yuanyang during the weekends at an additional cost. Students are welcome to sign up for these trips.

WHAT DO THE CHINESE LANGUAGE LEARNING STUDENTS DO DURING THEIR SPARE TIME?

Some students stay in their rooms or the library doing their homework; some students go out to explore the city; some students do their volunteer work if they sign up for the Volunteer in China program. Keats offers Chinese cultural activities such as Chinese calligraphy, Chinese cooking, Chinese painting, card games, mahjong, Chinese tea, Yunnan coffer etc. every Tuesday and Thursday night.

I WILL FIND MY OWN ACCOMMODATION. CAN I TAKE THE ONE-ON-ONE CHINESE LESSONS ONLY AT KEATS SCHOOL?

Yes, it is possible to learn Mandarin only at Keats School without accommodation. For students who do not live in the school, we charge RMB 150 per hour for one-on-one Chinese lessons. If you need help with the visa, the minimum duration for the course is 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. To be eligible to get a student visa with multiple entries requires a minimum of 16 weeks’ study at Keats.

WILL KEATS PROVIDE ME ACCOMMODATION?

Yes, all the prices listed on our website (except the small group Chinese class) include accommodation (single room with private bathroom). Therefore, you don’t have to look for your own accommodation, which is very convenient.

WILL KEATS SCHOOL HELP ME OBTAIN A VISA?

Yes, after we receive full tuition fee for the entire course through bank transfer, we will send you the official Admission Notice on behalf of Keats School to apply for a student visa (X1/X2) in your country. The X1 visa is for a program longer than 6 months while the X2 student visa is for a program shorter than 6 months. The express mail delivery fee is RMB 490.

Please Note: The tourist visa can no longer be changed to a student visa after you arrive in China. In order to avoid unnecessary cost, please make sure to enter China with an X1 or X2 student visa.

DO I NEED A VISA TO TAKE THE CHINESE LANGUAGE PROGRAM IN CHINA AT KEATS SCHOOL?

Yes, you will need a Chinese visa to study in China. Before you come to study in China, please leave yourself enough time to apply for a Chinese visa at the Chinese embassy in your country with the documents we send you.

I WANT TO STUDY AT KEATS SCHOOL. HOW LONG IN ADVANCE SHOULD I APPLY?

For summer studies, the rooms are usually fully booked half a year in advance. For spring, fall and winter, students are suggested to register at least 2 months in advance to secure the teachers and rooms at Keats. This also leaves you enough time to apply for a Chinese visa. Please make sure to check the course availability with us before you apply.

 

WHAT PAYMENT METHODS DO YOU ACCEPT FOR STUDENTS TO LEARN CHINESE IN CHINA AT KEATS SCHOOL?

Keats School accepts cash, bank transfer and credit card payment. For payment methods, please visit this page.

I’M A VEGETARIAN. WILL KEATS SCHOOL’S CHEF ACCOMMODATE TO MY NEEDS?

Yes, we provide 8 to 10 dishes each meal for our students. Among the dishes we provide are cooked for vegetarians.

CAN I CONTINUE USING MY OWN CHINESE TEXTBOOKS THAT I HAVE BEEN USING HERE AT HOME?

Yes, please bring your textbooks to Keats School and prepare a copy/book for your teacher when you arrive so that your teacher can prepare the lessons according to your level and your learning goals.

WHAT TEXTBOOKS DO YOU USE AT KEATS SCHOOL?

If you are a beginner, we use “Essential Chinese” published by Keats School which contains useful and practical words and phrases. If you are at intermediate or advanced, we use “New Practical Chinese Reader”, “Boya Chinese” , “Speed-up Chinese” , “Developing Chinese” depending on your levels and learning goals. After you arrive, you will meet your teacher to discuss about your learning requirements and goals, and your teacher will select one text book that is suitable for your level and learning goals. Your teacher(s) will also prepare supplementary materials to comply with your studies.

If you choose the HSK Preparation Course, we use the “HSK Standard Course”  and various HSK exercise books.

I AM A BEGINNER AND I WANT TO LEARN TO SPEAK CHINESE WELL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. HOW LONG DO YOU THINK IT WILL TAKE TO ACHIEVE MY GOAL?

If you are a beginner and have not studied Chinese before, a minimum of 12 weeks’ Chinese language study at Keats School will help you master the basic understanding of Mandarin and basic conversations, such as booking hotel rooms, making Chinese friends, ordering food in restaurants, asking for directions, talking about hobbies and personal experiences, etc.

If you have a higher level of Chinese learning goals such as reading newspapers, watching TV shows, watch Chinese movies, talking about social issues and have longer time available, we would recommend you take a 20-week or 24-week intensive Mandarin course to help you achieve a lower/upper intermediate level.

I AM FROM A NON-ENGLISH SPEAKING COUNTRY. MY ENGLISH IS NOT VERY GOOD. CAN I STUDY AT KEATS?

You are welcome to study at Keats. If you only know a little English, you can still study at Keats. English is just a tool we use to teach Chinese. However, in order to create an all Chinese language environment, we will use as less English as possible to help our students learn Chinese. We have helped many non-English speakers to master the Chinese language.

Will I get any certificate at the end of the program?

Yes, we provide a program certificate for all courses we offer. You will receive a certificate at the end of your program, stating how many hours of Mandarin lessons you will have completed.

Ready to take
the next step into
your future?

Let's Go!

Jaq's Story at Keats The Inspiration of Chinese Tea

OVER 7000+ STUDENTS HAVE STUDIED AT KEATS

Kirsten testimonial for keats chinese school

Kristen | Canada

Small Group Chinese Class

I have really enjoyed coming to Keats and meeting the teachers here and the students. We have a lot of fun in class. It is a really great school to learn with good teaching methods and really good textbook, examples and games and everything.

Viktor testimonial for keats chinese school

Viktor | Switzerland

Small Group Chinese Class

My school is amazing. I recommend Keats School because it is a more convenient way to learn Chinese here in Kunming.

Hilary testimonial for keats chinese school

Hilary | USA

Intensive One on One Chinese Classes

I’ve had a really great time here. I’ve studied a lot with my teacher who was fantastic. Keats School tried very hard to match its students with really good teachers that their personality works very well together. I really enjoy the school and I will definitely come back.

David testimonial for keats chinese school

Pakorn | Thailand

Small Group Chinese Class

Ramji | USA

Intensive One on One Chinese Classes

The best part of the school is the patience the instructors had and the time to focus on the fundamentals like pronunciation. I think it is very easy to skip over those and go to vocabulary. But by learning the pronunciation, I feel like it helped me gain a better understanding of the language.

Ben testimonial for keats chinese school

Ben | USA

Small Group Chinese Class

My first semester that I studied at another school, and the pressure there was pretty high, the classroom hour was long, and the homework was pretty tedious. Since I came to Keats, I found I have a lot more opportunities to speak in the classroom. My classmates all are fluent and love speaking and participating in the class. We have great classroom dynamic.

Simon testimonial for keats chinese school

Simon | UK & France

Small Group Chinese Class

The visa application was really straight forward, because Keats School helps us a lot for that. Keats has a big emphasis on conversational practice, so we learn a lot of vocabulary and daily life plan which is very convenient for us to go around town and speak with Chinese people which is the whole point of coming to China.

Jope testimonial for keats chinese school

Joep | Netherlands

Intensive One on One Chinese Classes

I have been to Keats School for 4 times now. The reasons for coming back to this school is pretty much that the teachers I did work with were very good teachers. I make it a 5-year plan or even 10-year plan to come back to this school.  All the teachers have methods of looking at what your skills are. They are aware of at what level you are. I think it is worth for everyone.

Please use vertical scrolling on your mobile device.